RSS

Laird’s Bonded Apple Brandy

14 Oct

Oh man. I have been meaning to buy this for a while now. I finally did, but then the Binny’s I go to didn’t have any real grenadine (pomegranate juice and sugar based, rather than being red dye and corn syrup). fortunately, they had some at another store, and are bringing it over next week. Unfortunately, that mans no Jack Rose cocktails.

So, I head over to Savoy Stomp, which is my go to for “what do I do with this spirit?” and find that very nearly every recipe that calls for apple distillate requires at least one thing I don’t have – usually either apricot brandy or absinthe, neither of which I am running out and buying tonight, thanks. I did find a couple, though. The Corpse Reviver #1 looks tasty, although I may wait until I have better vermouth. I’ve been looking for interesting things to do with the Angostura white rum, so i may give the Kicker a try. And the Deuville looks like a nice little Sidecar variation.

And, you know, I’ve got a bottle of Apple Brandy. I may make an Plain Cocktail variation. Or keep it around until other fortified wines show up and try David Wondrich’s ¬†Basic Cocktail. I also feel like a Fancy Free variation might work.

We’ll see. I’ll keep you posted.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on 2011/10/14 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

2 responses to “Laird’s Bonded Apple Brandy

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 86 other followers

